Gov.-elect Glenn Youngkin speaks at a "thank you" rally in Salem on Nov. 19. Photo by Dwayne Yancey.

Stay up to date with news from the General Assembly

Our daily newsletter has headlines from the session and the impacts on Southwest and Southside Virginia

Gov.-elect Glenn Youngkin has announced 14 “landing teams” that will “coordinate with the cabinet secretaries from the current administration and conduct due diligence across all agencies.” Three of these will be lead by legislators from Southwest or Southside Virginia. A fourth will be led by one from the Shenandoah Valley.

State Sen. Steve Newman, R-Bedford County, will lead the finance landing team. Sen. David Suetterlein, R-Roanoke County, will lead the education landing team. Del. Kathy Byron, R-Bedford County, will lead the labor landing team. In addition, Sen. Mark Obenshain, R-Rockingham County, will lead the public safety and homeland security landing team.

Other legislators from Southwest and Southside are represented as committee members. Here is the full list:

Administration(Chair) Senator Jill Vogel, Delegate Jay Leftwich ,Delegate Will Wampler, Fmr. Secretary Janet Kelly, Aliscia Andrews, Tim Parrish, Kishore Thota, Donald Williams, Tyler Williams 
Agriculture and Forestry(Chair) Delegate Margaret Ransone, Senator Emmett Hanger, Senator Richard Stuart, Brian Barnett, Tim Parrish, Hallie Pence, Beth Walker Green
Commerce and Trade(Chair) Senator Ryan McDougle, Senator Frank Ruff, Delegate Emily Brewer, Delegate Will Morefield, Delegate Will Wampler, Melissa Ball. Rooz Dadabhoy, Mike Gallagher. Chris Pilkerton, Bob Sledd, Dubby Wynne
Commonwealth(Chair) Senator Tommy Norment, Delegate Bobby Orrock, Chief Steve Adkin, sCouncilwoman Amanda Pillion, Fmr. Secretary Janet Kelly
Education(Chair) Senator David Suetterlein, Senator Siobhan Dunnavant, Delegate John Avoli, Delegate Rob Bell, Delegate Carrie Coyner, Fmr. Congressman Tom Davis, Nate Bailey, Bill Bennett, Christopher Bright, Lindsey Burke, Elizabeth Butler, Grace Creasey, Rebecca Horner, Tian Olson. Abigail Rogers, Kirk Schroder, Elizabeth Schultz
First Lady(Chair) Delegate Amanda Batten
Finance(Chair) Senator Steve Newman, Senator Tommy Norment, Delegate Kathy Byron, Delegate Joe McNamara, Fmr. Secretary Aubrey Layne, Stuart Farrell, Brian Holland, Barry Knight, Dan Kowalski, Scott Mayausky, Jared Walzack
Health and Human Resources(Chair) Senator Siobhan Dunnavant, Senator Todd Pillion, Delegate Roxann Robinson, Dr. Nancy Dye, Dr. Bill Hazel, Lt. Col (Ret) Daniel Gade, Lt. Col (Ret) Arne Owens, Fmr. Secretary Alan Levine, Chris Head, Ashish Kachru, Amber Kirby Talley, Ashley Suetterlein
Labor(Chair) Delegate Kathy Byron, Senator Travis Hackworth, Melissa Ball. Chuck James, Caren Merrick
Natural & Historic Resources(Chair) Senator Richard Stuart, Delegate Danny Marshall, Keith Hodges. Chelsea Jenkins, James Sherlock,  Andrew Wheeler
Public Safety and Homeland Security(Chair) Senator Mark Obenshain, Senator David Suetterlein, Delegate Amanda Batten, Delegate Rob Bell, Delegate Ronnie Campbell, Sheriff Mike Chapman, Sheriff Glendell Hill , Sheriff Hank Partin, Tony Pham, Zach Terwilliger, John Zadrozny
Technology and Cyber(Chair) Delegate Glenn Davis, Senator Mark Peake, Aliscia Andrews, George Batsakis 
Transportation(Chair) Delegate Scott Wyatt, Delegate Terry Austin, Senator Bill DeSteph, Senator Mark Obenshain, Fmr. Secretary Robert Martinez, Fmr. Delegate Jim LeMunyon, Jenn Aument, Dave Foreman, Brad Hobbs, David Horner, Shep Miller
Veterans and Defense Affairs(Chair) Delegate John McGuire, Senator Bryce Reeves, Sheriff Karl Leonard, Colonel (Ret.) Rich Anderson, Colonel (Ret.) Mike Flanagan, Jen Kiggans, Paul Lawrence, Tim Parrish, Richard Stone, Terrie Suit