Dwayne Yancey, executive director and editor

Dwayne Yancey

Dwayne has more than four decades of experience in Virginia journalism, including 39 years with The Roanoke Times as a reporter, editor and, for seven years, editorial page editor. During that time he twice won the Virginia Press Association’s D. Latham Mims Award for Editorial Leadership, and was inducted into the Virginia Communications Hall of Fame. He is the author of “When Hell Froze Over,” a book about Virginia politics, as well as an internationally-produced playwright. He lives in Fincastle.

Markus Schmidt, political reporter

Markus Schmidt

Markus is an award-winning journalist who brings more than 20 years of experience, including two years as an investigative reporter for BILD, the largest national daily publication in his native Germany, and more than four years with the Richmond Times-Dispatch, where he mostly covered Virginia politics. Markus comes to Cardinal  from Virginia Living, the most read lifestyle magazine in the commonwealth, where he has served as associate editor. He also spent several years in the music business, and he has a knack for Virginia bourbon and vintage jazz records. He lives in Richmond.

Megan Schnabel, business reporter

Megan Schnabel

Megan has been a journalist in Southwest Virginia for more than 25 years. She started out writing about economic development, technology and retail business for The Roanoke Times, then became an editor at the newspaper, overseeing coverage of topics including business, local government and criminal justice. She also spent two years as editor of The Blue Ridge Business Journal. She holds a degree in journalism from Northwestern University and lives in Roanoke.


Cardinal News is operated by Cardinal Productions, which incorporated in July 2021 and is in the process of obtaining 501c3 status. Cardinal’s board:

Luanne Rife, president

Luanne Rife

Luanne is a veteran enterprise journalist, most recently for The Roanoke Times.

Debbie Meade, secretary

Debbie Meade

Debbie is a former publisher of The Roanoke Times.

Chris Turnbull, treasurer

Chris Turnbull

Chris is a longtime strategic communicator in the region and currently senior director of corporate communications for Carilion Clinic. 

We will be expanding this board to include representatives from throughout Southwest and Southside Virginia. Cardinal News also has two advisory committees.

Our community advisory committee:

Dayo Abah, head of the journalism department at Washington and Lee University, Lexington

Earving Blythe, retired  vice president for information technology and chief information officer at Virginia Tech

Rick Boucher, former member of Congress, Abingdon

Erin Burcham of the Roanoke-Blacksburg Technology Council, Roanoke

Bev Fitzpatrick Jr., retired Transportation Museum director, Roanoke

Cynthia Gray, retired fundraiser, Roanoke

Bob Goodlatte, former member of Congress, Roanoke

Tonya Hart, former Roanoke Times chief financial officer, Roanoke

Larry Hincker, former public relations executive, Blacksburg

Molly O’Dell, retired public health director, Buchanan

Megan Rhyne, Virginia Coalition for Open Government, Williamsburg

Mary Trigiani, executive and communicator, Abingdon

Our journalism advisory committee:

Lawrence Emerson, co-founder, Fauquier Now

Caroline Glickman, former editor, The (Lynchburg) News and Advance, former editor, The Roanoke Times

Beth Macy, author, “Dopesick,” “Factory Man,” “Truevine.”

Rich Martin, former managing editor, The Roanoke Times; former head of journalism department, University of Illinois

Joe Stinnett, former editor, The (Lynchburg) News and Advance, former editor, The Roanoke Times

Carole Tarrant, former editor, The Roanoke Times

Leslie Taylor, former reporter and editor, The Roanoke Times; now College Editor, Roanoke College

Ben R. Williams, former reporter, The Martinsville Bulletin

Kelly Zuber, former news director, WDBJ-TV (Channel 7)