Nancy Dye and Glenn Youngkin at a campaign rally in Roanoke County. Photo by Dwayne Yancey.

Gov. -Elect Glenn Youngkin on Wednesday announced the 12 key members of his transition team, including three from Southwest Virginia – Dr. Nancy Dye, a general surgeon from Roanoke, Sheriff Hank Partin of Montgomery County, and Amanda Pillion, a member of the town council of Abingdon and the wife of state Sen. Todd Pillion, R-Washington County.  

“In order to change the trajectory of our great commonwealth, we can’t operate on government time,” Youngkin said in a news release, rehashing one of his campaign slogans. “We’re going to do things differently. That’s why this incredible transition team represents various backgrounds – business owners, law enforcement officers, veterans, healthcare providers, and most importantly, parents, who will bring an array of experience and fresh perspectives that will pave the way for a transformation where Virginia soars and never settles.”  

Elected officials rely on transition teams to prepare for office. These small teams of skilled professionals usually assume critical post-election responsibilities, including vetting, selecting and appointing personnel to be working for the new administration, and organizing agency review activities. Youngkin’s committee includes representation from leaders in the business community, law enforcement officers, veterans and healthcare providers. 

 The committee will be led by Transition Director Jeff Goettman,  a chief operating officer of the Youngkin for Governor campaign, and it will be co-chaired by Kay Coles James, a former Secretary of Health and Human Resources under former Gov. George Allen, and state Senator Steve Newman, R-Bedford County. 

The committee’s remaining nine members include Melissa Ball of Hanover County, Del.  Kathy Byron, R-Bedford County; Lindsey Burke of Fairfax County; Rooz Dadabhoy of Henrico County; Brad Hobbs of Virginia Beach; former Secretaries of Transportation Aubrey Lane of Virginia Beach and Robert Martinez of Norfolk; Tian Olson of Fairfax County, and Tim Parrish of Prince William County. During the transition, Youngkin will also be advised by four former governors of Virginia as Honorary Co-Chairs: Republicans Robert F. McDonnell; James S. Gilmore, III; George F. Allen; and Democrat L. Douglas Wilder.

Markus Schmidt is a reporter for Cardinal News. Reach him at or 804-822-1594.