Chris Peace. Courtesy of CICV.
Chris Peace. Courtesy of CICV.

Here’s a roundup of education briefs. Want more education news? There’s no full-time reporter west of Richmond covering education K-college. You can help fix that. Help us fund this position. From now until the end of the year, NewsMatch will double your gift of up to $1,000.

* * *

Peace to lead Council of Independent Colleges in Virginia

The Council of Independent Colleges in Virginia, an organization dedicated to the support and representation of 27 accredited nonprofit independent colleges and universities in Virginia since 1971, announced today that former state legislator Christopher Peace will become the next president of the organization following the conclusion of the 2023 regular session of the Virginia General Assembly.

Currently, Peace practices law in the metro Richmond region. As a Republican state legislator serving in the House of Delegates from 2006 to 2020, Peace represented Hanover, King William, and New Kent Counties. Peace sat on the House Appropriations Committee where he chaired both the Transportation subcommittee and the Elementary and Secondary Education Committee and served as a budget conferee who helped negotiate the final version of the budget that was sent to the governor. He lost his re-nomination bid in 2019 to Scott Wyatt.

Peace is a graduate of Hampden-Sydney College, the University of Richmond School of Law, and he grew up near Randolph-Macon College, where his parents met and his father was a math professor. “Based on my affection for the people and places that comprise Virginia’s private colleges, I am pleased to have the opportunity to give back,” he said in a statement.

Averett University President Tiffany Franks served as the search committee chair. Other members were Robert Lindgren (Randolph-Macon College), Dr. Alison Morrison-Shetlar (University of Lynchburg), and Dr. David Olive (Bluefield University).

Peace succeeds Robert Lambeth of Bedford County, who has retired. See Cardinal’s background story: “Virginia’s top advocate for private colleges retires, will raise llamas.”

* * *

Virginia Tech to graduate nearly 3,000 this week

Nearly 3,000 will graduate on Dec. 16 during Virginia Tech’s fall commencement ceremonies, which will be held in Cassell Coliseum. 

The University Commencement ceremony will begin at 10:30 a.m. ET. The Graduate School ceremony will follow at 2:30 p.m. ET. Both events will be available via livestream video from the university homepage for those unable to attend in person. Doors will open at 9:30 a.m. for the university ceremony and at 1:30 p.m. for the graduate ceremony.

The events will honor students who completed their academic degrees during the summer and fall terms.

* * *

Ferrum College promotes three

Ferrum College faculty Martha Haley-Bowling ’90, Jason Powell, and Tim Daniels, have recently been promoted to senior academic leadership positions. Haley-Bowling was appointed dean of Graduate and Professional Studies, effective October 1. Powell and Daniels took up their new responsibilities on December 1 as assistant vice president for Academic Affairs and dean of Undergraduate Studies, respectively.

As dean of Graduate and Professional Studies, Haley-Bowling oversees the Nursing, Social Work, and Teacher Education professional programs, as well as the College’s graduate programs. A Ferrum College alumna, Haley-Bowling has spent the last 21 years teaching and currently serves as the College’s program coordinator of Social Work. 

As assistant vice president for Academic Affairs, Powell will support the academic deans in continued success and innovation in current areas of study, as well as the development of strategic new programs while working collaboratively with the Office of Institutional Research and other areas of Ferrum College to support student success. Powell has served the College since 2001, most recently as a current professor of Chemistry and Physics and as the former dean of Undergraduate Studies. 

As dean of Undergraduate Studies, Daniels will oversee Ferrum College’s existing undergraduate programs, and work with faculty to develop new opportunities for Ferrum students. Daniels joined the Ferrum faculty in 2015 as an assistant professor of History, and most recently served the College as program coordinator for History.

* * *

Idea Fair award winners. Courtesy of DCC.
Idea Fair award winners. Courtesy of DCC.

41 students in Danville-Pittsylvania recognized at Idea Fair

The 2022 Idea Fair has recognized 41 students from Danville and Pittsylvania County.

The Idea Fair is hosted and facilitated by Danville Community College as part of the Dan River Region Entrepreneur Ecosystem, which also includes The Launch Place, the Danville Pittsylvania Chamber of Commerce, the River District Association, and Longwood Small Business Development Center. The grant is funded by the Danville Regional Foundation.

First, second, and third place winners are selected from each participating school. Out of more than 70 participants, 41 students placed and received an award. First place winners received $300, second place $200, third place $100.

2022 Idea Fair Winners

Pittsylvania County Public Schools

1st Place – Jackson Moore, Wyatt Walden

2nd Place – Ryder Brooks, Unique Savage, Jacob Shelton

3rd Place – Brianna Short, Cailyn Singleton, Jamyrah Urquhart

Danville Public Schools

1st Place – Jewelle Cabell, Cormani Burton, Tyjaia Carter

2nd Place – J’Marion Prunty, Lyric Moore, LaPriannah Keen, Damyrah Barley, Niyana Parker

Hargrave Military Academy

1st Place – George Gohman, Tamasjai Miller, Michael Walton, Aiden Dykstra

2nd Place – Jarius Steely

3rd Place – Teni Olufore

DCC Early College Students

1st Place – Sa’Nya Brandon, Timyah Dillard, Aniya Carter, Kamyra Bracey

2nd Place – Emily Clatterbuck, Rowan Kirk, Zoe Alderson

2nd Place – Ethan Robertson, Peyton Gauldin, Tyler Hendey, Tyler Whitlock

3rd Place – Ariyah Graves, Kyra Alexander, Tiara Davis, Kaylee Younger

Danville Community College Students

1st Place – Dustin Brumfield, Madison Fuquay

2nd Place – Andrew Wilson

3rd Place – Mattison Keatts